Langley Events Centre set to host Minto Cup

One of Canada’s most storied championships could see its champion crowned at the Langley Events Centre.

The B.C. Junior A Lacrosse League announced that the Minto Cup will be played at the LEC if the west participant hails from the Lower Mainland.

The Minto Cup venue alternates between the west and east participants and is played in August.

This year is the west’s turn to host the best-of-seven series.

“We are excited to be able to call the LEC home when the event is played on the Mainland and in the west,” said BCJALL commissioner Ken Wood.

The eastern representative is the winner of the Ontario Junior A Lacrosse League, while in the west, the winner for the B.C. Junior A Lacrosse League takes on the champion from the Alberta Junior A Lacrosse League.

A team from the Lower Mainland has represented the west every year since 1986 when Victoria-Esquimalt hosted the event.

The Lower Mainland teams in the league are the Langley Thunder, Burnaby Lakers, Coquitlam Adanacs, Delta Islanders, New Westminster Salmonbellies and Port Coquitlam Saints.

The league also features the Nanaimo Timbermen and Victoria Shamrocks.

The Minto Cup has been awarded to the top junior lacrosse team in the country since 1937. It was first awarded in 1901 and until 1909, was given to the top senior men’s team. After that, it was presented to the top professional team in Canada from 1910 to 1924. It was not presented from 1925 to 1936.

The BCJALL season begins April 26.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, March 2017

Add an Event