Felicity Allen tackles Grace Christie during a rugby sevens jamboree held at Yorkson Creek Middle School back in April. Allen was named to the Commissioner’s XV as the top Grade 8 girls player for her school. She was one 26 players honoured at the ceremony held at DW Poppy Secondary on June 5. Gary Ahuja Langley Times

Four Shields for Mountain Eagles

Top Langley rugby teams, players honoured at banquet

The Mountain Eagles led the way, winning four Langley Shields this past rugby season.

The top Langley teams for each age group were presented their Shields Monday at a ceremony at DW Poppy Secondary.

The Eagles won both the Bob Panasiuk Shield (junior boys Sevens) and Brian Hunter Shield (senior boys Sevens) as well as the Art Smith Shield (junior boys) and Bill Turpin Shield (senior boys).

The Stafford Skyhawks claimed three awards, winning the Harry Hunt Shield (Grade 8 girls Sevens), Jim Booth Shield (Grade 8 boys Sevens) and Marvin Foss Shield (Grade 8 boys).

The Poppy Redhawks won the Frank Ellestad and David Meikle Shield (senior girls Sevens) and Gord Dennison Shield (senior girls) while the Yorkson Creek Wolves won the Brian Anderson Shield (Grade 8 girls).

Brookswood’s Elliot Cluney and Poppy’s Luca Agostini were each presented with a $500 scholarship from the Langley Rugby Club while Langley Secondary’s Cam Smith was presented with the Bill Turpin Award.

In addition to the team awards, the Commissioner’s XV award winners for each age group and school were announced.

Betty Gilbert — Cassidy Buchanon (Grade 8 girls).

Brookswood — Yuri Balla (Grade 8 girls), Andrea Boettcher (junior girls), Elliot Cluney (senior girls), Austin Payer (Grade 8 boys), Bryan Keffer (junior boys) and Phillip Lee (senior boys).

Poppy — Megan Biluk (junior girls), Virginia Nikkel (senior girls), Tanner Mueller (Grade 8 boys), Gabe Anderson (junior boys) and Luca Agostini (senior boys).

Langley — Winnie Hsu (junior girls), Chris Ocampo (senior boys), Kori Johnson (junior boys) and Meeka Gay (senior boys).

Mountain — Grace Jung (junior girls), Sera Park (senior girls), Hosua Kim (junior boys) and Patric Cho (senior boys).

Walnut Grove — Christa Heinrich (Grade 8 girls) and Jordyn Myers (senior girls).

Yorkson Creek — Felicity Allen (Grade 8 girls) and Azad Nokhandan (Grade 8 boys).