Langley's Brad Lazarowich is being inducted into the BC Hockey Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony is in July in Penticton and both Lazarowich and Vancouver Giants owner Ron Toigo (below) are entering the Hall.

Lazarowich, Toigo among Hall inductees

Long-time NHL official, Giants owner among BC Hockey Hall of Fame inductees

  • Thu Jan 19th, 2017 4:00pm
  • Sports

Less than a year removed from a 30-year career as an NHL official, Brad Lazarowich has gotten the call to the BC Hockey Hall of Fame.

The 54-year-old from Walnut Grove was among the inductees announced on Tuesday for this year’s class to the Hall.

Lazarowich retired from the National Hockey League in April after working 1,971 regular season games as a linesman. His last game came in the same city as his first: Winnipeg.

The Hall call wasn’t a complete shocker for Lazarowich.

“I figured with the amount of games I worked, I had a pretty good chance to get in,” he said.

“This is a real big honour. There are not too many officials in there.

“Being recognized is pretty cool.”

Lazarowich will enter the Hall in the builder category, alongside some pretty prominent names in hockey circles.

Joining him will be former Vancouver Canucks general manager Dave Nonis, Vancouver Giants owner Ron Toigo and broadcaster John Shannon.

The other inductees include former Canucks players Thomas Gradin and Tony Tanti.

The official induction ceremony will be July 28 at the South Okanagan Events Centre in Penticton.

“I am looking forward to it; it should be a lot of fun,” Lazarowich said.

Now retired from on-ice officiating, Lazarowich is still involved in the game, working with officials in the BC Hockey League, as well as doing scouting and development with the NHL.

Toigo is the majority owner and president of the Giants, who moved to Langley and the Langley Events Centre this past season.

The long-time Tsawwassen resident previously owned another Western Hockey League franchise, the Tri-City Americans.

With his help, Toigo has twice brought the IIHF world championships to B.C., first in 2006 when it was co-hosted by Vancouver, Kamloops and Kelowna, and now again for 2019 with Vancouver and Victoria co-hosting the prestigious event.

Garrett James

Vancouver Giants owner and president Ron Toigo is among the inductees to the BC Hockey Hall of Fame.